Proposition 30: NO

Jerry Brown’s Sales and Income Tax Increase Initiative


Proposition 31: NO

Establish a Two-year State Budget Cycle


Proposition 32: YES

Ban mandatory automatic deductions by corporations, unions, and government of employees’ wages to be used for politics


Proposition 33: YES

Allow insurers to offer discounts to new customers who can prove they were continuously covered by any licensed auto insurance company over the previous five years


Proposition 34: YES

Repeal the death penalty as maximum punishment for persons found guilty of murder and replace it with life imprisonment without the possibility of parole


Proposition 35: NO

Californians Against Sexual Exploitation Act” Initiative


Proposition 36: YES

Revise the three strikes law to impose life sentence only when the new felony conviction is “serious or violent”


Proposition 37: NO

A Mandatory Labeling of Genetically Engineered Food Initiative


Proposition 38: NO

Molly Munger’s State Income Tax Increase to Support Public Education


Proposition 39: NO

An Income Tax Increase for Multi-state Businesses Initiative


Proposition 40: NO POSITION TAKEN

A Referendum on the State Senate Redistricting Plan


General Elections Calendar

Monday, October 8, 2012 – Vote By Mail & Early Voting Begins

Polls open and close at different times for early voting. Check with your county’s Registrar of Voters for early voting poll dates and times.

Monday, October 22, 2012 – Last Day to Register to Vote.

You may register to vote online at the California Secretary of State’s website.

You can also check the current status of your voter registration, if you’re unsure.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012 – Election Day

Polls open by 7 AM and close at 8 PM.

You can find your polling station on your sample ballot or on the Secretary of State’s website.

Arrive early at the polls. Polling stations may be very busy if turnout is heavy for this election, in which case lines are likely to be long. Only those voters who are in line in time by the polls closing at 8 PM and who have not yet voted will still be allowed to vote.

Mail ballots must be received by your County Registrar’s office or any polling station in your County by the time polls close.